· 

Is the camera a weapon?


I had a very interesting discussion with a photo colleague - Micha Ende -  about street photography in particular and photography in general.

When I do street photography I don't ask the people I show on my pictures, just because I want to get authentic results. Micha is doing it different - he asks the people before taking a photo and his photos are amazing. The discussion was not about the legal aspects, it was about the moral aspects.

 

My point of view is, that I just show the reallity in my pictures. A reallity you are able to see as long as

you walk around with an open mind and open eyes. The people I show are part of our reality. Both -them and us - made & make decisions. Our society - YOU (?) & ME - made and make the decision to accept poverty, injustice and misery in our world.

 

People living in the street made and make a decision, too. No matter how hard live treats you, you make the decissionsn how to deal with your life.

 

Sounds hard to you?

 

I know what I am talkink about. I was addicted to drugs and alcohol more than 10 year of my life and I am sober for 25 years now. It was my decision whether I live as a bum or as a sober photographer. No easy way, lot of pain, relapses - but only my decisions! Part of the decisions you make ist how you present yourself to the public and how people look and think about you. It is up to you, if you present yourself as a victiom or a warrior, a treasure hunter or a bottle collector......

 

I do not judge anyone, I just show life in all its facets and most of the decisions people make I just accept.

 

Micha and me agreed in a lot of points so far ;-)

But Micha said it is necessary to ask people before taking a photo,otherwise I would take away their dignity.

 

At the end a camera is like a weapon he argued. That was the point we had some dissent ;-)

 

Would anybody call a drawing pad and a pen a weapon? What is the difference between a - maybe even photo realistic - drawing of a person and a photo? Would anybody blame a painter for doing his thing? I never learned to draw or paint, that's why I use a camera. It is the same for me as a pen and a pice of paper  - just a tool, no weapon. I don't see myself as a killer, I treat people with respect wherever I can - ok, some people make it kind of difficult 😂....

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   

 

  

Well, just some thoughts.......What do you people think?

 

Do you think one of the people in the following photos was asked for their permission? These iconic pitures were taken by Cartier-Bresson, Capa, Nick Út, Eddie Adams & Alfred Eisenstaedt. 

 

Was it ok in the 30's, 40's & 50's and isn't ok now?

Is it ok at war but not without war?

Where is the moral limit?

And whose decision is that?

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0