· 

Harmony H76

This pic shows my first real guitar - a Harmony H76 from 1962. 

THE STORY...

I bought this beauty around 1982 in Mannheim/Germany from a guy named Gaggi, who played guitar in Herbert Grönemeyer's band.The guitar was in real bad condition, but I was told, the original owner was Brian Jones. So I payed 600,--DM, spent another 600,--DM to get it fixed and then it was played for some years in a Rockabilly band I managed. The name of this Harmony is "The Bitch", maybe because she always is out of tune

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The original price was 199,--$

 

In 2016 I showed this baby to Richard "Dick" Taylor from the Pretty Things. He was one of the founding members and first bass player of a band named The Rolling Stones. 

 

Dick Taylor is playing a copy of the Harmony H76 and I wanted him to see, sign and maybe play my guitar.

 

He told me, he lived together wit Mick Jagger and Brian Jones in the early 60's and confirmed, that Brian Jones had a Harmony H76 at that time.

He also told me, that the guitar own is an export model. One can identify this becaus it doesn't inlays in the f-holes, So it might really be Brian Jone's guitar. He put new strings on, played it backstage, loved it and wanted to play it for one song on stage. When he leter tried, The Bitch started crying like hell....end of story.

 

The Bitch is signed by Dick Taylor and by Dan Auerbach from the Black Keys, who also plays a H76

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dan Auerbach playing a Harmony H76

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 1
  • #1

    R. SCHMELING (Montag, 19 Februar 2018 23:16)

    Ein tolles Schätzchen!!!
    Und eine tolle Geschichte!...müsste doch auch die diversen Gitarrenmagazine interressieren...ich bin gespannt, was da noch kommt....